Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Precious Stones

Last year my husband and I took a trip to Arkansas and stopped at the Crater of Diamonds State Park. It had rained recently, so it was extremely muddy and pretty chilly the day we were there. We rented buckets, shovels, and screens and learned how to screen for diamonds. I would love to say we found several large diamonds, paid off our house, and soon retired from our jobs; but that didn’t happen.
I was sure I had found a diamond right on top of the ground, which after recent rains is “possible”. When I had it looked at by the experts, I was told it was a piece of glass. Of course that would have been too easy, as most people have to dig to find the real treasures. It takes time and effort, and few stumble upon such treasure without a little effort. While we didn’t find any diamonds, we did have fun.
Most things in life that are worthwhile are like looking for diamonds. It takes time and effort. It takes commitment and determination. And sometimes, most times, you have to dig.
There are four gemstones we refer to as precious stones: diamonds, rubies, sapphires, and emeralds. Part of what makes a stone precious is the Mohs hardness rating or the ability to resist abrasion or scratching. On a scale of 1 – 10, diamonds are a 10, rubies and sapphires are a 9, and emeralds are an 8.
                Life is similar. There are gems in our lives that protect us and give us the ability to resist abrasion or scratching. Do you have what you need to stay strong and resist abrasion? Some days you need diamonds of faith, some days rubies of God’s love and healing, some days sapphires of courage or discipline, and some days emeralds of hope.  What you put into your spiritual jewelry box is what you can then take out. God’s precious stones give us what we need; but sometimes, most times, we have to dig into scripture for them.
                Which of these precious stones do you need most right now?

No comments:

Post a Comment