Monday, October 17, 2016

Love Languages

The book by Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages, has sold more than 8 million copies. People want to know how to communicate love to each other and to understand how they best receive love from others. 

According to Chapman, the five love languages are:
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of service
  • Physical touch

We each have one and tend to give from the one we have. But it doesn’t matter what your love language is, God knows which one is yours. He communicates in all love languages and understands how to receive your love as well. 

Words of affirmation – He has given us His word.

God speaks encouragement to us through His written word. If we need affirmation, we can look to His word to know how much we are loved and who we are in Christ. The Holy Spirit also speaks to us in different ways depending on what we need. You can read the same passage of scripture at different times and receive a different encouragement based on your circumstances. The words are the same, but the application might be different. 

Quality Time – He is there whenever you are. 

God gives you his undivided attention. You can be in a room with 1,000 other people praying, and God hears you individually. Take a walk with God, talk to Him. Make a date with God. Take time for Him every day. He is there just waiting for you. 

Receiving Gifts – He gave the greatest gift. 

God gave His Son Jesus Christ to pay the price for our sin. There is no greater gift. Yet He continues to give us more. We each have spiritual gifts, and as we abide in His word, we receive the gift of the fruit of the Spirit. 

Acts of Service – He meets your needs daily. 

God knows what we need before we ask. He does for us like no other. We need only to open our eyes to what He has placed around us. 

Physical Touch – He has touched my life. 

Scripture is full of those He touched physically. When I am in need of a hug, I can feel His presence and His arms around me.  He reaches out and holds my hand. He heals my broken heart. 

Do you know which love language is yours? No matter which, God has them all and loves us through them all. 

No comments:

Post a Comment